G Adventures: Coast to Coast Eastbound – Memphis to New York

Memphis, Tennessee

This half of the tour seemed to go so much quicker than the first half. We reached Memphis and around half of us decided to go to the Martin Luther King Memorial Museum. It’s one of my favourite museums, well, ever, as it’s super informative, whilst bringing information to you in a non-stuffy museum-y way. Definitely a must for Memphis.

DSC00569

DSC00547

I’m not going to lie, I don’t like Elvis. We were camped next to Graceland so a lot of the group went over in the morning but I was in New York saving mode. We went to a pretty good BBQ called Marlowe’s and they picked us up from our tents in this pink limo. Our tour guides had bullshitted us about a lot of things on this trip so you can imagine our faces getting into this baby.

DSC00574

We done as you are supposed to do in Memphis – we watched live music and stumbled back to our tents.

DSC00581

DSC00580

DSC00584

Nashville, Tennessee

Next stop, Nashville. God, I wish I had watched the show before I came here. It was all a little hazy (some cocktails went ahead here) and not a lot of evidence came from the night. All the streets are crawling with live music. I snuck into a line dancing lesson. I got really, really drunk. A few people threw up. A few people kissed. Nashville was like a second coming of Vegas really.

We also shot guns and Tennessee’s gun laws are insane.

DSC00593

 

Shenandoah National Park, Virginia 

I was not feeling good this day but it was a short hike. I didn’t do all of it, but enough to capture this pretty view.

DSC00597 copy

Washington D.C

So. Much. Driving.

SO MUCH DRIVING.

The front of the bus looked like this around this drive. It got intense.

DSC00654

DSC00603

Here is where I found out that I don’t know how to make my camera like nighttime shooting but some pretty freaky photos came from it.

DSC00619

DSC00618

We stopped at Arlington Cemetery on the way. Definitely something for any history geeks to do, or if you just need to feel humbled.

DSC00602 copy

 

New York, New York

We made it. The bus made it, somehow. The only things we lost were sleep and some showers (and almost Ollie’s wallet). But what we gained was 6,000 miles across one of the most amazing countries on Earth. Geographically, the USA is a whirlwind. Culturally, two hours and you feel like you’re in a different world.

DSC00662DSC00672

I spent a whole lot of time in Queens and Brooklyn, just hanging out and seeing some friends. I’d been to NY with a school trip so didn’t feel the need to do a lot of sightseeing but the One Trade Centre and Memorial hadn’t been completed when I last came so it was pretty special to see it.

 

All in all, this is obviously one of the best experiences of my life. I was worried at one point that this would be too guided and wouldn’t leave room for the adventures and spontaneity but I was definitely wrong. There was a lot of freedom in what we could do – if you didn’t like an activity or wanted to do another one nearby, that was cool as long as you don’t mind possibly doing it by yourself and as long as you’re there when the bus leaves! The amount I saw for the amount of money I spent, I’m extremely happy with – whilst this isn’t for budget travellers, it can be done without spending a fortune.

Leave a Reply

